top of page

Grand Apps Team Highlight | Charles



What does Michael Jordan & Charles (GA Team Member) have in common? They were both told they wouldn't make it in their desired craft. MJ was cut from the basketball team & Charles failed his Photoshop / design class in college.

We are excited to bring you another Grand Apps Team Member highlight feature today.

Charles is one of our latest additions to our team, specializing in design / development. We sat down with him to get his full story so we could share it with our loyal followers. He has led a pretty exciting life thus far from jumping out of planes to failing classes, only to become very successful at it later in life. Here is the story of Charles and Grand Apps.

In Mid 2002, I joined the Military...

"I didn't know what I wanted to do with my life, so in mid 2002, I joined the military. I became a parachute rigger in a special forces station in Okinawa, Japan. During my time in the military, I wasn't totally sure what I wanted to do with my life. So after my four years were up, I joined a school in Illinois for Visual Communications because I enjoyed filming and editing videos. Unfortunately, I failed everything from Photoshop to photography & even video. I guess I just don't like the school system, but I love learning. So in my spare time I taught myself as much as I could in whatever I would find interest in.

Now, I'm a graphic designer, web and app developer. I also do photography, became a MASTER of photoshop and can create video. I think my method of learning is to jump into it head first, I find it rather exciting this way.

Working with Grand Apps has opened up a plethora of different styles and methods for acuminating my skills. A very simple phrase that resurfaces in my mind repeatedly is "do what you love & the money will come". Right about now in my life, I don't work. I do what I love. I hope I never have to 'work' again."

Charles starts his day off with some hot coffee, sets up his station & gets in the flow. We asked him what the best part of his day was.

"The best part of my day is when I am IN THE ZONE. Just hacking away with my Photoshop skittles".

So on this day, we wanted to give a HUGE THANKS to Charles for all of his hard work & dedication to our team.

Thank you all for the support & view. Have a Great Memorial Day!


3 views0 comments
bottom of page